My Zombie Ex-Boyfriends, by Susan Soares

MZXBcoverThe blog says it’s about All Sorts of Stuff, so I’m going to share with you books that I’ve read and enjoyed. I hope this to become a regular feature.

The first book I’m reviewing is My Zombie Ex-Boyfriends by Susan Soares. This is a Young Adult contemporary fantasy romantic comedy story. Yeah, all those things and not horror as the inclusion of zombies might suggest.

The main character is Caitlyn. She’s parent-free for the summer, and though she has a job running her uncle’s old-style small-town movie theater, everything looks to be a fun, carefree summer. Until her four most recent ex-boyfriends appear, and they’re all zombies—inadvertently turned that way because of how Caitlyn broke up with them.

These aren’t the typical brain-eating zombies; these are lovesick zombies, all craving Caitlyn’s love. It’s a creative metaphor for the breakups-without-real-closure that Caitlyn put them through. The four of them explain that their zombie condition requires them to be near her and that she must choose one of them to be with and the others will perish.

Caitlyn wants to run away from the problem, and the lesson she needs to learn as the book progresses is to face it. She starts with some creative and comedic thinking about how to explain the presence of the four zombies by showing monster movies at the theater and having them be promotional entertainment. A brilliant plot idea by the author, but a Band-Aid solution for our protagonist. She needs to face her problem and face the circumstances behind her breaking up with them.

The biggest strength of this book is the development of the characters. It’s Caitlyn’s story because she’s the one on the journey of self-discovery, and the fantastical situation she’s in thrusts her into a “straight-woman” kind of role to the hysterical antics of the four boys. They’re all distinct, fully realized, and putting them in the same room is the pure comedic bliss of the book. The way they interact kept this reader in stitches.

I think about how female fans of the Twilight series fell into two factions: Team Edward and Team Jacob, based on which they felt Bella belonged with (or which one they imagined themselves with). When this book hits it big, I envision four such factions. Some readers will prefer the intelligent and kind Clark, some the sensitive thespian Hayden, some the musician Frank, and even some the self-centered model Josh.

No spoilers here, so I won’t reveal which one Caitlyn ends up with in the end—if any of them at all. The fun is in the journey, in watching her finally face her problems instead of running away from them or hiding behind cheesy break-up lines. And fortunately for the reader, her journey has lots of laughs along the way.

So if you’re looking for zombies in the vein of Night of the Living Dead or The Walking Dead, this book probably isn’t the one for you. But if you’re looking for a light, funny, fantasy romantic comedy, then check out My Zombie Ex-Boyfriends. A highly recommended debut novel by an up-and-coming author! FOUR AND A HALF STARS.

- – -

My Zombie Ex-Boyfriends is available at Amazon.

Read the spotlight of author Susan Soares HERE.

Speak Your Mind

*